Tag Archives: NBN 4

1st MTRCB TV Awards winners unveiled

By Nickie Wang

mtrcbIt took six months for the Movie and Television Review and Classification Board to stage the very first MTRCB Television Awards. It was held last Sept. 4 at the Gateway Mall Cinema 5, Araneta Center in Cubao.

While it has been known for giving sanctions and suspensions to television shows and personalities that violate its rules, it made a bold step in recognizing what they think are the best programs on television today. Thus, in its maiden attempt to pinpoint the best programs and outstanding television personalities, it is also making another impression.

“It’s our way to show that we care for the improvement of the television industry,” MTRCB chairman Ma. Consoliza Laguardia said during the opening remarks of the star-studded affair.

Balitanghali, Best News Program

Balitanghali, Best News Program

The winners of the awards given out were adjudged based on three criteria—social values, moral accountability, and creativity. The programs that passed these criteria after the scrutiny of the 30 board members of the MTRCB are: Balitanghali (QTV 11) for Best News Program; I-Witness (GMA-7) for Best Public Affairs Show; Sineskwela (ABS-CBN 2) for Best Educational Show; I Survived (ABS-CBN 2) for Best Reality Program; Mustard TV (TV 5) for Best Children Show; Wow Mali (TV 5) for Best Comedy Program; Talentadong Pinoy (TV 5) for Best Talent Show; Obra (GMA-7) featuring Sunshine Dizon for Best Drama Special; and the Jericho Rosales and Carmen Soo starrer Kahit Isang Saglit (ABS-CBN 2) for Best Teleserye.

Some people in the audience were surprised when the Best Actor award winner was announced. The trophy went to comedian Michael V., who asked “Sigurado ba kayo dito?” while receiving the recognition. Meanwhile the Best Actress plum went to Bea Alonzo for her performance in Betty La Fea. The actress who wasn’t in the ceremenony had a message on video.

Hosts Edu Manzano, who won the Best Male Host award, and Jackie Acquino explained that the MTRCB recognizes the talent of all actors and personalities in different genre be it drama or comedy. The same thing goes for the Best Host category where everyone that hosts a program whether a game show, a news program, or a talk show, was automatically included as nominee. The Best Female Host went to Jessica Soho.

May Bukas Pa's miracle boy Santino

May Bukas Pa's miracle boy Santino

Some special awards were also given out to programs that encourage positive television viewing experience. In the point of view of the MTRCB, May Bukas Pa (ABS-CBN 2) deserved the Special Award for Promoting Moral Values.

Other special awards were given to NBN 4’s Power to Unite for Special Award for Promoting Nation-Building, GMA-7’s Born to be Wild for Promoting Environmental Protection, Net 25’s Moments for Promoting Family Values and Solidarity, and Studio 23’s Y Speak for promoting Education for the Marginalized.

Gloria Romero was conferred the Lifetime Achievement Award for her contribution to the Philippine entertainment industry. According to MTRCB, Romero has starred in over 200 films, and indeed fit for the title Queen of the Philippine movies.

Just like any other awards night, the traditional Male and Female Star of the Night awards were also given out and they went to Ryan Agoncillo and Isabel Oli, respectively.

The program opened with a dance number by current Darna star Marian Rivera to the tune of, “Sabay Sabay Tayo.” Singer and song writer Ogie Alcasid, YouTube singing sensation Charice, stand-up comic Pooh, and ’80s dance group The Tigers with Jojo Alejar, made the night more entertaining.