Sharing acting honors

The Philippine Movie Press Club (PMPC), in its more than three decades of recognizing stars and movies in local industry, has been notorious in giving out the same award to two nominees in a specific category on its awards night. And last Sunday, for the nth time, was no exception.

The more substantive segment of the program though was Jun Lana’s Die Beautiful being the most decorated movie of the night. The film bagged five awards including Best Picture, Best Director, Best Screenplay, Best Editing and Best Cinematography. That’s quite expected since the film has been receiving remarkable accolades here and abroad. But in the Best Actress category, audiences raised their eyebrows and plastered the big question “why” on social media.

Superstar Nora Aunor and actor-turned-politician Vilma Santos shared the top acting honors at the 33rd edition of PMPC Star Awards for Movies.  Aunor and Santos were both proclaimed Best Actress winners for their roles in Kabisera and Everything About Her, respectively. Yes, they’re both great actors, so why not?

Top acting winners Nora Aunor, Vilma Santos and Daniel Padilla with 33rd PMPC Star Awards for Movies other winners (Photo: Star Magic)

This decision to split the coveted acting plum between two legendary actors was a tricky decision. But obviously, the members of the PMPC didn’t want to offend any of the two celebrated local movie stars who both showed up at the venue. The same thing applies to the ardent supporters of the “Superstar” and the “Start for All Seasons” who, up until now, could launch a massive word war.

You see, they were uncertain on who to honor, but one thing was certain though, they didn’t want to make any bold decision to clean up their dubious credibility or at least give their award show some sense of unpredictability. It was a lost chance.

Meanwhile, in the Best Actor race, Daniel Padilla walked home with the top acting honors winning over legitimate film critics’ favorite Paolo Ballesteros (Die Beautiful). The other nominees in the Best Actor category were Tommy Abuel (Dagsin), John Lloyd Cruz (Just The 3 Of Us), Dingdong Dantes (The Unmarried Wife), JC De Vera (Best Partee Ever), Ronwaldo Martin (Pamilya Ordinaryo), Zanjoe Marudo (The Third Party), Alden Richards (Imagine You And Me), and Bembol Roco (Pauwi Na).

Sure, two or three among these actors mentioned have given better performances compared to the young actor. But they weren’t the choice of the members of PMPC. And that gives people an idea of PMPC’s benchmark when it comes to choosing the best in this art form.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s