Awards and recognition

In the recently-concluded Gawad Tanglaw, the Best Television Station plum was given to GMA Network and ABS-CBN. Good thing, the organizers prepared two trophies making the rival stations walk home happy bagged their own respective badge of being the best in the business.

Since its inception in 2001, Gawad Tanglaw has been devoted in honoring the best talents and organizations in movies, television, radio, theater and even print media. Interestingly, the members of the award-giving body do not raise funds from sponsorships to run the search and stage the annual awarding ceremony. It is also good to note that the jurors, who select the winners, are mostly critics, scholars, historians and humanities professors from various universities all over the country.


As an academe-based award-giving group, people are under the impression that Gawad Tanglaw is objective and most of all realistic in their decisions. But how can they trust the judgment of the people who are undecided whether an award is to be given to just one or two or more winners?

This year’s scenario, ABS-CBN and GMA Network both winning the Best TV Station award, is just one of the many instances when The Gawad Tagapuring mga Akademik ng Aninong Gumagalaw (Tanglaw) gave out one award to multiple winners. It appears that what the group is attempting to build is reputation and not credibility. And they are getting what they want, Gawad Tanglaw is now famed for being the most consistent award-giving group with most numbers of ties during its awarding ceremony.

Unpopular winners

Scenema Concept International’s El Presidente is having the loudest laugh among the movies released in the previous year. After failing to clinch the Best Picture plum at the2012 Metro Manila Film Festival, the historical drama emerged as the biggest winner at the 29th Star Awards for Movies.

In a glitzy ceremony last Sunday, The E.R. Ejercito—starrer film bagged the Movie of the Year award plus six more trophies including Best Actor recognition for the actor-politician, Best Director and Best Screenwriter awards for Mark Meily. The movie, which was slammed by critics for its historical inaccuracies, garnered the most awards at the 2012 MMFF, but lost to Star Cinema’s One More Try in the Best Picture category.

Meanwhile, Kapamilya star Angel Locsin won the top-acting honor for One More Try. Some might be wondering why it was not Nora Aunor, who gave convincing portrayal of a Badjao midwife in Thy Womb. Apparently, the road became clear for Angel when the internationally recognized film was relegated to the indie section amid being billed as a mainstream film.

In the independent film category, Thy Womb still failed to impress the members of PMPC. Virtually unknown Alagwa bested the more popular favorites Thy Womb and the Philippines’ entry to the Oscars—Bwakaw. Top-billed, directed and co-produced by Jericho Rosales, the indie movie was awarded with Indie Film of the Year and Best Director trophies.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s